Rain season is here: 5 dog raincoats sold in Canada →
slobber&wags
Harnesses

Harnesses you can buy in Canada

Front-clip, step-in and everyday harnesses sold in Canada, with CAD prices and how to measure.

Measure first

We haven't tested these harnesses ourselves; this is built from makers' pages, retailer listings and owners' reviews. We don't take free products and the links earn us no commission. How we research gear

On this page

Our picks at a glance

Prices checked 26 Oct 2026 on the Canadian stores linked below. We haven’t tested these harnesses ourselves.

Front clip, back ring or step-in?

Three things separate most harnesses: where the leash clips on, how the harness goes on, and how it is sized. Start with the clip. A back ring is the simple, everyday option; Ruffwear describes the anodized aluminum V-ring on its Front Range as the attachment “for everyday walks”. A front attachment sits on the chest, and the makers we read say it is there to redirect a dog that pulls. We’re passing along what the makers say. We haven’t tested whether any of them changes how a particular dog walks.

Next, how it goes on. A step-in harness lays flat on the floor, your dog puts both front paws in, and you close it over the back. PetSmart.ca’s listing for the Canada Pooch Easy-On says there’s no need to slide it over the dog’s head. That suits dogs who dislike things going over the ears. The Ruffwear Web Master goes the other way: it has a neck buckle, so it also doesn’t need to go over the head.

Measure the widest part of the rib cage, then read the maker’s chart. Sizes don’t line up from brand to brand.

Finally, sizing. Ruffwear sizes by girth, “around the widest part of the rib cage”. Run a soft tape around that point, snug but not tight, and write the number down in both inches and centimetres. Ruffwear’s two pages give opposite tie-break advice: the Front Range page says “In between sizes? Choose the larger size”, while the Web Master page says to choose the smaller size. So read the page for the exact harness you’re buying. Some Canadian listings, including both RC Pets harnesses and the Canada Pooch Easy-On at PetSmart.ca, show no chest measurements at all. In that case, check the maker’s chart before you order, or ask the store.

We sorted the harnesses below by the job each one does, then checked each store’s price, sizing information and what owners said about fit.

Everyday and trail

Ruffwear Front Range

$59.99 CAD · price checked 26 Oct 2026 · XXS to L/XL, 33–107 cm girth

A foam-padded harness with two leash points: a reinforced webbing loop on the chest (the maker says it’s there to redirect dogs that pull) and an aluminum V-ring on the back. It has four adjustment points, an ID tag pocket, reflective trim and side-release buckles. The shell is recycled polyester ripstop. Sizes run XXS (33–43 cm), XS (43–56 cm), S (56–69 cm), M (69–81 cm) and L/XL (81–107 cm).

Pros
  • Front and back leash points on one harness
  • Owners call it comfortable and durable, and mention daily walks and hiking
  • Four adjustment points and a tag pocket
Cons
  • Every size and colour showed “Out of stock” on ruffwear.ca on 26 Oct
  • Some reviewers had sizing trouble or wanted easier neck adjustment
  • One reviewer found the mesh lining rough on the chest

Sources: product page and review summary, ruffwear.ca (4.8 out of 5 from 4,257 reviews, per the page).

Check priceCompare

Best for escape artists

Ruffwear Web Master

$79.99 CAD · price checked 26 Oct 2026 · XXS to L/XL, 33–107 cm girth

A three-strap harness that Ruffwear markets for dogs that tend to back out of harnesses. It has a neck buckle, so it doesn’t go over the head, a padded handle, and three leash points: front, back V-ring and a chest loop. Sizes match the Front Range chart. Ruffwear’s page says to choose the smaller size if you’re between sizes.

Pros
  • Reviewers describe it as secure, including for dogs that slipped out of other harnesses
  • Padded handle, praised for lift and control
  • Neck buckle means no pulling it over the head
Cons
  • Pricier than the other picks
  • Material starts stiff and softens with use, according to reviewers
  • Some found the front chest piece too wide for their breed, and sizing took trial and error (one lean dog with a 23-inch chest needed an XS, not a Small)
  • All sizes showed “Out of stock” on 26 Oct

Sources: product page and review summary, ruffwear.ca

Check priceCompare

Budget front clip

RC Pets Pace No Pull

$29.99 CAD · price checked 26 Oct 2026 · XS, S, M, L, XL

A nylon-webbing, martingale-style harness: the maker says its front connection “cinches across shoulders to reduce pulling” and gently tightens when the dog pulls. It has five adjustment points, side-positioned buckles, reflective stitching and nickel-plated hardware. It’s machine washable. PetMax.ca lists it at $29.99; the page doesn’t show chest measurements.

Pros
  • Lowest-priced front-connection harness here
  • Five adjustment points
  • Machine washable
Cons
  • No chest measurements on the page, so you need the maker’s chart
  • Medium was sold out and only one review (5.0) was on the page
  • Martingale-style: the maker says it tightens when the dog pulls, so check its fitting notes

Sources: PetMax.ca listing

Check priceCompare

Easiest on

Canada Pooch Easy-On Step-In

$32.99 CAD · price checked 26 Oct 2026 · X-Small, Small, Large

A step-in harness with a single buckle and a plain back D-ring. PetSmart.ca describes it as comfortable for everyday wear and “strength & safety tested”. There’s no front clip, so it’s the pick for a dog who already walks nicely and hates things over the head. The listing shows no chest measurements, and the review text wasn’t visible to us (the page shows 27 reviews).

Pros
  • Step-in, so nothing goes over the head
  • One buckle
  • Back D-ring only, which keeps things simple
Cons
  • No front leash point
  • No sizing chart or materials on the PetSmart.ca page
  • Only three sizes listed

Sources: PetSmart.ca listing. The price shown was for the Plum colourway.

Check priceCompare

Made in Canada

RC Pets Step In Primary

$24.99 CAD · price checked 26 Oct 2026 · five sizes

A step-in harness with adjustable neck, chest and girth straps and a clip closure. PetMax.ca’s listing says it’s made in Canada, machine washable and carries a “lifetime guarantee”; see the maker for the terms. It comes with reflective stitching and nickel-plated hardware. As with the other RC Pets harness, the page lists sizes without chest measurements.

Pros
  • Lowest price on this page
  • Made in Canada, per the listing
  • Three adjustable straps
Cons
  • No front leash point
  • No chest measurements or materials listed, and no product reviews on the page
  • One item left in stock when we checked

Sources: PetMax.ca listing

Check priceCompare

Compare all

HarnessLeash pointsHow it goes onSizesPrice (CAD)
Ruffwear Front RangeFront + backNot stated (side-release buckles)XXS–L/XL, 33–107 cm$59.99
Ruffwear Web MasterFront + back + chest loopNeck buckleXXS–L/XL, 33–107 cm$79.99
RC Pets Pace No PullFront + backNot statedXS–XL$29.99
Canada Pooch Easy-OnBack onlyStep-inXS, S, L$32.99
RC Pets Step In PrimaryNot statedStep-in5 sizes$24.99

How we chose

We looked for harnesses with a CAD price on a Canadian store page, then read each maker’s or retailer’s description, sizing information and, where the page showed them, owner reviews about fit. We haven’t tested these harnesses ourselves, and we make no claim that any of them changes how a dog walks. We left out a Canada Pooch model whose maker page showed only USD prices, and Kurgo harnesses, because we couldn’t confirm a Canadian price for a step-in model. We don’t accept free products in exchange for picks, and none of the links on this page earn us a commission.

Questions

How do I measure my dog for a harness?

Ruffwear’s pages say to measure girth “around the widest part of the rib cage” and compare it with the chart. Their Front Range page says to choose the larger size if you’re between sizes, and their Web Master page says the smaller. Check the page for the harness you’re buying.

What’s the difference between the front ring and the back ring?

On the Front Range, Ruffwear describes the chest attachment as being there to redirect dogs that pull, and the back V-ring as the one for everyday walks. RC Pets describes its front connection as one that cinches across the shoulders.

Is a step-in harness easier to put on?

That’s how PetSmart.ca’s listing for the Canada Pooch Easy-On puts it: there’s no need to slide it over the dog’s head, and it closes with one buckle. RC Pets’ step-in lists adjustable neck, chest and girth straps.

Good dogs & good mail.

One email a week. No spam, only slobber.