Rain season is here: 5 dog raincoats sold in Canada →
slobber&wags
Coats

Winter coats with a harness hole

Five winter coats sold in Canada with leash portals or built-in harnesses, compared on coverage and reflective trim.

Winter coat roundup

We haven't tested these coats ourselves; this is built from makers' pages, retailer listings and owners' reviews. No commissions, no affiliate links. How we research gear

On this page

Our picks at a glance

Prices checked 26 Oct 2026 on the Canadian stores linked below. We haven’t tested these coats ourselves.

Why the harness hole matters

A winter coat that has to come off every time you clip a leash gets left at home. Makers solve this three ways: a slot or portal on the back that sits over the harness ring, a second portal on the chest for front-clip harnesses, or a coat with the harness built in. Which one you want depends on how your dog is walked.

Ruffwear’s Powder Hound has both chest and back leash portals, made for use over most harnesses. Hurtta says it reshaped the opening on its Expedition Parka II to be more weather-resistant. Canada Pooch’s Cool Factor puffer lists a back opening for a leash. If you use a front-clip harness, check that a chest portal exists before you buy.

Short coats: a gear-fit question

For short-coated dogs the question is simply how much of the body the coat covers. Look at the hem, the belly and the collar. Hurtta describes the Expedition Parka II as having a back-covering hem and a cozy collar, and lists short-haired dogs among the dogs it is aimed at. Ruffwear puts high-loft insulation in the back and belly panels of the Powder Hound. Canada Pooch’s snowsuit has a thermal lining that runs through the belly and legs. We don’t give temperature advice here; compare the makers’ coverage and sizing.

Reflective trim

Dark winter evenings are the practical reason. The Powder Hound lists reflective accents and a light loop for a clip-on light, and the Expedition Parka II lists reflective trim on both sides. The Canada Pooch listings we read don’t mention reflective trim, so check before you rely on it.

Sizing

Hurtta sizes jackets by back length and says to choose the larger size if your dog is between sizes. Canada Pooch uses back length from the base of the neck, just below the collar, to just above the tail, plus chest girth around the widest part of the chest. Ruffwear sizes by chest girth and says to size up for a relaxed fit or down for a snug one.

Sources: ruffwear.ca, Powder Hound · hurtta.com/en-ca, Expedition Parka II · Harbour Hound, Cool Factor · Harbour Hound, Full Body Snowsuit

Best two-point portals

Ruffwear Powder Hound

$169.99 CAD · price checked 26 Oct 2026 · sizes XXS–XL by chest girth

A waterproof, windproof insulated jacket with a full-length zipper and stretch sleeves on the legs. Chest and back leash portals are made for use over most harnesses, and the shell has reflective accents plus a loop for a clip-on light. One owner wrote that they had cut slots in an earlier version and that this one comes with covered slots built in.

Pros
  • Chest and back leash portals
  • Waterproof, windproof shell; insulated back and belly panels
  • 4.6 stars from 635 reviews on ruffwear.ca
Cons
  • Costs more than the Canada Pooch coats
  • Tailored fit; Ruffwear says to size up for relaxed
  • No hood listed

Sources: product page and owner reviews, ruffwear.ca. Ruffwear also lists used units at lower prices; this is the new price.

Check priceCompare

Best all-rounder

Hurtta Expedition Parka II

$140–$210 CAD by size · price checked 26 Oct 2026 · sizes 23–80 by back length

A minimalist parka with an opening for harness attachment, reflective trim on both sides and a back-covering hem. The neckline, collar edge, back length and belt all adjust. Hurtta lists short-haired dogs among the dogs it is aimed at. Price steps up with size: $140 for sizes 23–30, $155 for 35–40, $175 for 45–50, $190 for 55–65 and $210 for 70–80.

Pros
  • Harness opening reshaped for weather resistance
  • Reflective trim on both sides
  • 46 of 48 reviews on hurtta.com are five-star; one owner liked that it has no back zip
Cons
  • Price rises to $210 for the biggest sizes
  • Single back opening, no chest portal listed
  • No hood listed

Sources: product page and owner reviews, hurtta.com/en-ca

Check price

Best on a budget

Canada Pooch Cool Factor Puffer

$53.99–$99.99 CAD · price checked 26 Oct 2026 · back length + chest girth

A puffer jacket with faux-down insulation, dual Velcro closures on the chest, a woven non-shed lining and a back opening for a leash. It has the lowest starting price of the five. The Harbour Hound listing offered only sizes 8, 24, 26 and 28 when we read it, so check the size you need is in stock.

Pros
  • Back opening for easy leash attachment
  • Velcro chest closures and non-shed lining
  • Lowest starting price here
Cons
  • Listing doesn’t say it is water-resistant or reflective
  • Only four sizes were offered when we read it
  • No owner reviews on the listing

Sources: Harbour Hound listing

Check price

Best full coverage

Canada Pooch Harness Snowsuit

$86.99–$138.99 CAD · price checked 26 Oct 2026 · sizes 8–28

A two-in-one onesie with the harness built in. It has a thermal lining and a water-resistant shell, full-body coverage and button snaps at each pant hem to adjust the leg fit. Canada Pooch says the pant length ends about halfway down the average leg and suggests adding boots for fuller coverage. Sizes are for small to extra-large dogs up to 110 lb.

Pros
  • Harness built in, so no hole to line up
  • Full-body coverage with thermal lining
  • Adjustable pant hems
Cons
  • Maker says not to use it as a harness unless the straps are fitted and every buckle is secure
  • No reflective trim listed
  • No owner reviews on the listing

Sources: Harbour Hound listing

Check price

Best no-hole

Canada Pooch Red Harness Puffer

$72.99–$108.99 CAD · price checked 26 Oct 2026 · sizes 8–22

A puffer jacket with a built-in harness, faux-down insulation and a water-resistant exterior. It drapes over the back and fastens with adjustable straps, a double buckle and Velcro, so nothing goes over the head. The listing says it fits dogs up to 110 lb, but its size chart stops at size 22, for 40–59 lb.

Pros
  • Coat and harness in one piece
  • Water-resistant exterior with faux-down insulation
  • Recommended weights listed for each size
Cons
  • Listing text and size chart disagree on the top weight
  • No reflective trim listed
  • No owner reviews on the listing

Sources: Harbour Hound listing

Check price

Compare all

CoatLeash / harnessReflectiveSized byPrice (CAD)
Powder HoundChest + back portalsYesChest girth$169.99
Expedition Parka IIHarness openingYes, both sidesBack length$140–$210
Cool Factor PufferBack openingNot statedBack length + chest$53.99–$99.99
Harness SnowsuitBuilt-in harnessNot statedBack length + chest$86.99–$138.99
Red Harness PufferBuilt-in harnessNot statedBack length + chest$72.99–$108.99

How we chose

We started with winter coats sold in Canada with CAD prices, then read each maker’s product and sizing pages and, where a store shows them, owners’ reviews. We looked for a way to attach a leash to a harness without removing the coat, reflective trim, coverage and a clear measuring guide. We haven’t tested these coats ourselves, so warmth, fit and how they hold up are not tested claims. We don’t accept free products in exchange for picks, and none of the links on this page earn us a commission.

Questions

Does a coat have to have a harness hole?

Not if the harness is built in. Canada Pooch’s Harness Snowsuit and Red Harness Puffer both include one. For a separate harness, look for a leash portal, slot or back opening, as on the Powder Hound, Expedition Parka II and Cool Factor.

How do I measure my dog for a winter coat?

Canada Pooch says to measure back length from the base of the neck, right below where the collar sits, to just above the tail, and chest girth around the widest part of the chest, just behind the front legs. Hurtta sizes by back length and says to go up a size if between. Ruffwear uses chest girth.

Which coats list reflective trim?

Of these five, the Powder Hound (reflective accents and a light loop) and the Expedition Parka II (trim on both sides). The Canada Pooch listings we read don’t mention it.

Good dogs & good mail.

One email a week. No spam, only slobber.